Timothy Heaney

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

My name is Tim Heaney, I'm 27 years old and have two boys, 3 and 4 years old. I'm currently employed in produce farming, mainly pumpkins, potatoes, straw, sprouts, and sweet, and field corn, that has some accomponying livestock. I'm an interior firefighter in the local volunteer department and I'm also a partner with my brother in a small family marine contracting business. My wife and I are interestred in joining the dairy community. i currently have some dairy experience from employement near alfred state college. We are interested in tie stall operations that we can take over from the current generation. Either by sale, or lease/rent, we would also be interested in another type of tenure agreement that could begin with employment and eventually lead to a partnership. We are mainly interested in conventional dairy, but with given current market we are very willing to help expand into or participate in on-site raw sales to supplement the milk check

Description of marketing method:

i would prefer to take over a current contract. Knowing the current market trends, I am also willing to help an existing farm to segway into CSA, and on site sales.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Capital Area
    • Albany
    • Rensselaer
    • Saratoga
    • Washington
  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester

Desired acreage:

21-50, 51-100, >100

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops

Description of buildings required:

tie stall barn with milking equipment, including feed/hay storage preffered. Housing would be an added bonus for an employment opportunity that would later lead to a partnership

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:


Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Dairy

Description of livestock/crops:

conventional dairy, knowing the market also willing to help expand into a diverse herd with raw sales, or breed registered holsteins.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Farm Management, For Lease, Partnership, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

willing to buy or lease/rent to buy, also interested in employment to lead to partnership. My wife and I are very interested in working with the current generation in transition plans

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?


Experience & education:

Farm internship/apprenticeship, 5

Experience description:

Am currently employed by a family farm with a main focus on vegetables and produce. Performing any duties of farm hand, including field work, equipment maitenance/repair, building construction, animal care (poultry and horses), truck driving, and farm stand work. Have some experience milking part-time.