John Gregory

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

I am an undergraduate student at Cornell University and majoring in Agricultural Sciences. I want to buy land that has not been farmed conventionally (as I want an organic operation) and have a diversified farm - livestock, orchards, crops.

Description of marketing method:

I plan on doing CSAs, farmers markets, and supplying restaurants directly.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester

Desired acreage:

51-100, >100

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Hay

Primary Livestock:

Equine, Goats/Sheep, Poultry

Description of livestock/crops:

I plan on having a wide array of crops and some livestock. I don't have as much experience in livestock as I do in crops, so if I do venture into livestock, it would be slowly and cautiously - but not immediately.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Partnership, For Sale

Description of tenure options desired:

I would like to buy my dream farm, live on it for the rest of my life, and eventually pass it on to my kids.

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Yes

Experience & education:

Formal agricultural education, Farm internship/apprenticeship, Farmer training or workshop

Experience description:

I did not grow up on a farm. I ventured into farming practices by maintaining a large vegetable garden in middle school in high school along with keeping bees and tapping maple trees. I worked as an intern and got hired as an employee over my senior year of high school and the following summer. Currently, I am an Agricultural Sciences student at Cornell University and one of my requirements for my major is to complete a farm internship for 6 weeks, which I will be doing.