Sasha Shabaldin

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Years actively farming:

6-10

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

My father and I have a bee farm (50+ bee hives) and we also grow vegetables and chicken (about 50) for our own use and friends and family. 

I'm looking for land for beekeeping and small farm, that can be jointly used by an orchard or other farm (organic). I'm open to having this activity on someone elses farm so that you guys also benefit from bee polination. 

 

Does this farmer have a business plan?

Yes

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Delaware
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester

Desired acreage:

6-10, 11-20, 21-50, 51-100

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing

Description of infrastructure:

only a house is required. We will build everything else

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits

Primary Livestock:

Poultry

Description of livestock/crops:

We will keep a few dozen chickens and about 10 turkeys primaraly for friends and family. Beekeeping would be the main activity. It's a family farm that we plan to use ourselves and keep it open for education purposes.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Partnership, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

I'm looking to buy, or to have a partnership if you have an orchard for excample or grow organic vegetables/fruit/berries. It's important that the farm is as natural as possible, though it doesn't have to be organic certified as long as we can see that the farming practices are "organic" in spirit.

It can be as small as just few acres as long as there is plenty of open area around (because of the bees, we can't have neigbor's houses very close)

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Yes

Experience & education:

Farm owner, On farm work experience

Experience description:

We have been doing that for 10+ years