Leslie Salka

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Years actively farming:

Less than 2

Description of marketing method:

I have existing work in large scale event installation/fabrications.   now transitioning to farm grown florals and resulting ability to serve local wedding and events workshops and promoting local farm resources, specialty farm goods and online presence that also works with other local makers & farms so that the overall benefit is seen personally but also in benefit of the local community.  

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Finger Lakes
    • Cayuga
    • Livingston
    • Monroe
    • Ontario
    • Seneca
    • Schuyler
    • Tompkins
    • Wayne
    • Yates
  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Delaware
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester
  • Long Island
    • Nassau
    • Queens
    • Suffolk
  • Western
    • Cattaraugus
    • Chautauqua
    • Erie
    • Genesee
    • Niagara
    • Orleans
    • Wyoming

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10

Infrastructure required:

Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Farm equipment, Water access, Electrical Access

Description of infrastructure:

Seeking a workshop/barn/storage for various uses.

ON site ]'housing' not necessary year round;  seasonally intend & can live in vintage camper on property.  Photos can be furnished.  

Part of our work is restoring vintage campers for photo booths, as well as future farm camping opportunities that would hopefully be possible on land leased or in partnership with existing farm business or collective for sources of produce & local fresh market presence. 

Description of buildings required:

prefer a dry barn or garage area for small workshop space or larger for storage and or working area for camper restorations.

Description of farm equipment required:

possibly small tractor - our husquvarna is only a 46" deck

Description of water access required:

prefer a water hookup for year round use and seasonal outdoor for irrigation and use for living in seasonal camper 

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Grains, Ornamentals, Other Crops

Description of livestock/crops:

none anticipated 

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, Partnership, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

Prefer lease or tenure arrangement that suits all parties, willing to negotiate short term and renegotiate following one year but, Seeking a way to establish and grow permanent working situation that allows for creative freedom to maximize potential for several ideas celebrating local NY.  

 

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Unsure

Experience & education:

Other

Experience description:

I have no large scale farming experience, however I have had several large home gardens (+/- acre) and am familiar with sustainable agricultural practices, prefer organic.  willing to learn, not a stranger to physical work. interested in small scale floral farming for events, local CSA, workshops, etc

would rely on the current farmer to remain as partner or as short term guide for best practices on your land & conservation...

I have studied art & english primarily through second year college.  Then worked in the travel industry briefly before 15 years in the printing industry, from customer service through operations management, procurement, contract negotiations. Since 2004 have been self employed in decorative arts (limestone plasters, architectural finishes) and most recently from 2013 through 2019 as director of design & production for seasonal events at conservatories & public gardens.  Ive also apprenticed for several years (seasonally) with a floral shop in Glen Cove, Long Island.  

I am a resident of Long Island but seek to live my next chapter in the Catskill region. My husband and I work together currently and have for nearly 25 years.  He is well skilled in electronics, small engines and refinishing  - repairing nearly any mechanical item that requires maintenance or repair.  Hard working, resourceful, bent on problem solving.  He has been previously employed as pipe fitter, marine engine technician, UPS driver, currently self employed. 

We are both self employed, stable & eager to find a sustainable location for business growth and personal privacy in a rural setting.