Ryan Lewis

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Years actively farming:

Less than 2

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

I have under 1 year experience with farming. Primary with hay fields, horse farms, raising cattle. I am not currently farming but wish to expand my knowledge in the farming industry and be able to actively farm on my own. 

Description of marketing method:

N/A

Does this farmer have a business plan?

No

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Capital Area
    • Albany
    • Fulton
    • Montgomery
    • Rensselaer
    • Saratoga
    • Schenectady
    • Schoharie
    • Washington
  • Central
    • Chenango
    • Cortland
    • Herkimer
    • Madison
    • Oneida
    • Onondaga
    • Oswego
    • Otsego
  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Delaware
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester
  • Southern Tier
    • Allegany
    • Broome
    • Chemung
    • Steuben
    • Tioga

Desired acreage:

51-100, >100

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Farm equipment, Electrical Access

Description of infrastructure:

I would need some sort of start up equipment. I can put up a fence.

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Hay

Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Beef, Pigs

Description of livestock/crops:

After gaining more knowledge I want to be able to have cattle and pigs on the farm, as well as a hay field to feed the cattle, but will be open to other aspects if presented. 

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Farm Management, For Lease, For Sale

Description of tenure options desired:

Will be open to just about anything to get me started.

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Unsure

Experience & education:

On farm work experience

Experience description:

Lived on my dad's farm for under a year.