Christopher Travis

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

Hope to finish business plan by end of March / April. Apply for a loan by end of 2021 or early 2022, and get started by acquiring land.

Description of marketing method:

Initially we will be at local farmer's markets, expanding via word of mouth, social media, cooperation with local businesses.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Central
    • Chenango
    • Cortland
    • Herkimer
    • Madison
    • Oneida
    • Onondaga
    • Oswego
    • Otsego
  • Finger Lakes
    • Cayuga
    • Livingston
    • Monroe
    • Ontario
    • Seneca
    • Schuyler
    • Tompkins
    • Wayne
    • Yates

Desired acreage:

6-10, 11-20, 21-50, 51-100

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Water access

Description of infrastructure:

Not absolutely vital, but would like to be able to stay on property and store equipment when needed, would be nice if didn't have to install electric and waterlines.

Description of buildings required:

Would be nice to have building to store equipment and tools, and to stay on the farm when needed.

Description of water access required:

Would be nice if water was available for the poultry and to water the crops as needed

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Ornamentals, Other Crops

Primary Livestock:

Goats/Sheep, Poultry

Description of livestock/crops:

Primarily plan to have chicken for the first few years, eventually include duck, pheasant, turkey. Goat and sheep available by season. Will supplement with cut woody and herbacious flowers.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, For Sale

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?

Unsure

Experience & education:

Formal agricultural education, On farm work experience, Other

Experience description:

I attended SUNY ESF and have a bachelors in plant science and a masters in environmental management, I work at the county soil and water office and work with Farmers almost daily to assist with the install of waterlines, fenes, barnyards, manure storage, etc.