Catherine Behan

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

I grew up in a rural community in South Dakota, from farming/ranching families generations back. My father had a cattle operation for some of the time I was growing up. I am a sculptor, living in NYC. I am looking for farmland for my family and I that can be used as a studio. I want to work with a limited operation, perhaps some goats or sheep and depending on the place some growing. The farm that I am most interested in will allow us to pursue our creative practices. I have been a member of the Livestock Conservancy and am very interested in maintaining small numbers of heritage breeds of livestock on our farm.

Description of marketing method:

website, contacts within the markets of NYC.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Capital Area
    • Albany
    • Rensselaer
    • Saratoga
    • Washington
  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10, 11-20, 21-50

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Water access

Description of buildings required:

Looking for outbuildings for storage, and also for studio space. Not absolutely required, but we would like a good barn.

Description of water access required:

property should have potable water.

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Ornamentals

Primary Livestock:

Equine, Goats/Sheep, Poultry

Description of livestock/crops:

looking at raising heritage breeds of sheep and chickens.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, Partnership, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?


Experience & education:


Experience description:

I have worked in farm jobs growing up and as a young adult.