Maria Mejia

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

I am looking for 1-5 acres to lease or rent in Ulster County. I would like to say on the smaller side. I grew up on very small farm. We had poultry and grew some crops that we sold. Now I am looking to pursue a farming lifestyle. Looking to produce tomatoes, corn, carrots, and other root vegetables. I'm also interested in raising poultry for eggs. Eventually I want to expand into a small scale commercial business where I can then bring my products to restaurants and establish a farm to table relationship with them.  

Description of marketing method:

I plan to bring a farm-to-table experience to local restaurants and stressing the importance of whole, natural and organic foods.

Does this farmer have a business plan?


Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Capital Area
    • Albany
    • Rensselaer
    • Saratoga
    • Washington
  • Hudson Valley
    • Dutchess
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Ulster
    • Westchester

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Water access, Electrical Access

Description of buildings required:

Ideally, I would like a house or mobile home on the property that I could live in while I rent and work the land. 

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Other Crops

Primary Livestock:

Goats/Sheep, Poultry, Other livestock

Description of livestock/crops:

I don't have livestock or experience growing crops on a commercial scals, however I am interested in light commercial farming. Tomatoes, corn, root vegetables, carrots, and potatoes; Poultry, specifically for eggs. The eventual goal is to partner with a restaurant or work to open my own farm-to-table establishment.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

I plan to live and work on the farm.

Additional Information

Experience & education:

Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

I held a part time job doing seed drying and sorting. I also have experience farming for self-consumption on my family farm in Dalton, Georgia for 3 years.