Jacob Sherman

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Years actively farming:

Less than 2

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

Over the past couple of years, I have been growing herbs, vegetables, and mushrooms on part of my 5-acre homestead as well as taking online course through Cornell.  I could potentially provide investment capital for a partnership of some kind as well.  I am very interested in organic production, forest farming, farm-to-table, and ethically raising animals.   I am also interested non-traditional products like mushrooms, Paw Paw and other lesser known edibles.

Description of marketing method:

More interested in marketing to restaurants and direct marketing but would partner with someone doing farmer markets

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Hudson Valley
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10, 11-20, 21-50, 51-100, >100

Infrastructure required:

Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Water access, Electrical Access

Description of buildings required:

I would need at least basic barn storage facilities to start.  I could set up green housed for storage and growing if needed.

Description of water access required:

I do a lot of rain-water harvesting but this has certain limitations.  Otherwise a clean water source would be needed.

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Other Crops

Description of livestock/crops:


Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, Partnership, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

I am considering buying land but would also consider leasing from like-minded people.

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?


Experience description:

I only have my homestead experience but I am working this getting more experience through workshops and volunteering.