Stephanie Wyant

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Years actively farming:


Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

We started our farm 4 years ago with chickens, turkeys, ducks, and rabbits. This year we added goats and have 3 different herds:
Kinder Goats- as New York's first breeders we are dedicated to enhancing the breed and making them available to local homesteaders. We will have our first drop in Spring of 2016.
Kiko Goats- we are currently breeding our does for Spring 2016 meat sales
The Green Machines- we use other goats like dairy mixes and rescues for residential goatscaping.
We also have a Backyard Flock Kit that we sell which is part of our chicken raising plans which includes meat and egg birds.
Finally, we raise turkeys and rabbits for meat.

Description of marketing method:

While we are still working out on marketing plan, I previously owned an award winning digital publicity firm in New York and have been using my past experience to market us in the following ways:
Social Media
Website with landing pages
Local events/markets
Email marketing
Partnerships with local AG businesses to promote our farm
Hosting classes
We will be adding other ad channels as we go along but we aren't currently selling product which makes our approach less traditional.

Does this farmer have a business plan?

In progress

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Dutchess

Desired acreage:

21-50, 51-100, >100

Infrastructure required:

Barns or other facilities for storage of equipment, livestock, and crops, Water access, Fencing

Description of buildings required:

We definitely need at least 1 large barn or several smaller ones. We can assist with restoring them if need be. We would need to be allowed to build dividers in the barn to keep our different herds and genders seperate. These would not have to be permanent.

Description of water access required:

We would require water access but either natural or well would work fine. If it was natural we would probably want to use a pump system to get it.

Description of fencing required:

We would like fencing but we have electric netting with solar panels so we can keep our animals contained from Spring-Fall. The Winter is when we would use the permanent fencing which we would prefer be electric but we would be okay with metal as long as it is at least 4ft high.

Crops and Livestock

Primary Livestock:

Goats/Sheep, Poultry, Other livestock

Description of livestock/crops:

We have 3 herds of goats- 25 total but we are breeding and expect our number to double by Spring 2016. The 3 herds can be mixed together but we would prefer they didn't - some have horns and some don't. Our goats vary in age from newborns to 3 year old adults. We also have 3 intact males that would need a seperate living area.
We also have a variety of egg layer chickens and will be moving into meat chickens as well. Right now we only have about 20 chickens and 6 turkeys. The turkeys would need seperate housing, more than likely.
Finally, we have rabbits - New Zeland White and Californian. We have 2 bucks and breeding does. We have a complete cage setup and may not even need to use leased land for them as they can probably stay at our land.

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

For Lease, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

We would like an open-ended lease with some flexiblity. We ultimately would like to purchase our own land within the next 2 years. As we are both young and just starting our business, we would prefer to barter for the land or pay a small rent. We are open to exchanging labor, product, or other in lieu of rent.

Additional Information

Will this farmer's operation qualify an eligible landowner for an Agricultural Assessment?


Experience & education:

Farm owner, Other, Farm internship/apprenticeship

Experience description:

My partner and I have been raising birds and rabbits together for over 4 years. We both grew up in AG settings - he spent summers on his grandparents farm in the Catskills and I raised chickens and rabbits while involved in 4-H. My partner assists Gansvoort Farm in Clermont, NY and I have worked for Sawkill Farm in Red Hook, NY.