Scarlet Sanchez

Want to contact this farmer? First Create a Profile.

Need more Help? Contact a Partner.

Farming Status and Plans

Years actively farming:

Less than 2

Description of farming status, plans, and practices:

Still in the early phases of planning, but really looking to connect with the land and produce some of my own food. Feel it is important to support local production and know where our food comes from. Seeking an opportunity to rent some land to test out what my production capabilities are. Eventually I would like to start up a business and sell at markets, but that would be a few years down the road. Ideally the property would be close to NYC, but would consider up to 3 hours if it had housing available. 

Description of marketing method:

Initially I would be producing for personal use and for friends/family members. When comfortable with production methods I would like to scale up to sell at farmers markets. 

Does this farmer have a business plan?

No

Farm Characteristics

Preferred location:

  • Hudson Valley
    • Columbia
    • Delaware
    • Dutchess
    • Greene
    • Orange
    • Putnam
    • Rockland
    • Sullivan
    • Ulster
    • Westchester
  • Long Island
    • Nassau
    • Queens
    • Suffolk

Desired acreage:

1-5, 6-10

Infrastructure required:

Onsite housing, Water access, Electrical Access

Description of infrastructure:

Farther from NYC would have to have housing. Water is needed for irrigation

Crops and Livestock

Primary crops:

Vegetables, Fruits, Grains, Ornamentals, Other Crops

Primary Livestock:

Cattle - Beef, Cattle - Dairy, Equine, Goats/Sheep, Pigs, Poultry, Other livestock

Description of livestock/crops:

Focus would be on vegetables and fruits, but also interested in adding livestock if the property permitted. 

Farmland Tenure

Tenure options desired:

Farm Management, For Lease, Partnership, For Sale, Other Tenure Agreement

Description of tenure options desired:

Seeking an arrangement that would allow me to start small and learn as I go. 

Additional Information

Experience description:

I majored in urban studies with a focus on the environmental impact of industrialization and have a strong passion for farming/sustainability.